SO! Today, mi padre had surgery for his cancer. As a fun (and by fun I mean disturbing) side note, a while back I told one of my friends that my dad had the "c-word" and they thought my dad was having a gender crisis.
(Note to self: re-evaluate friends.)
So things went pretty well. We got to see him (briefly) after the surgery, and he was awake. And his usual dryly humorous self, which was super super encouraging. What was more encouraging was that when my sister leaned over to hug him, his blood pressure monitor went off, and he says "there goes the Sarah alarm." Did I mention before that my Dad and I have the same personality? I almost died when he said this. I would probably be cracking jokes right after I had a serious operation too.
I have been really mad/sad/stressed/et cetera over the past few days. But somehow everything came rushing at me today and I had this sudden feeling of calm and zen and forgiveness and acceptance and whatever. Every time bad things happen to me, I feel ten times older (in a maturity way) when they are over. This is a good thing.
Also I was completely floored by something my sister (whom i previously was angry at and today stopped being angry at and subsequently she) said that she was always impressed by and jealous of my extreme ability to forgive people.
This is something I've always done. I don't want to seem vain, but I simply do not have the capacity to hold grudges. I cannot burn bridges. I can barely stay angry at someone for a week. I think I just like people too much. Bottom line, it was nice to know that it mattered to her that I was forgiving enough for her to comment on it.
But then again, maybe my ADHD just makes me too distracted to stay mad at people.
In other news, I want fall again. Maybe even winter. I am entirely too hot natured, and my mother loves to regale me with stories from my childhood which involve quoting me saying "Momma. I'm sweatin." SO, clearly I have always been this way. I don't care if I was sweaty as a kid. I really didn't think 3 year olds had the ability to sweat.
Whatever.
Point being, the temperature over the past few days has been like 9 million degrees Fahrenheit (really like 98-103) AND humidity has been upwards of 8,000 percent (I guess I didn't even really need to exaggerate. Everyone who has a basic understanding of percentages knows that 90-93% is a frickton. North Carolina is making an A in humidity right now.) and I AM GOING TO DIE. It's not even cool inside. I am disgusting right now.
Moral of the story? I want fall. Or else I need to go live in Canada. Actually let me change the moral of the story. I need multiple homes that will suit my intolerance for temperature change throughout the seasons.
THE END
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment